Invasion Out now Purchase Banner John 5

   Facebook-button   twitter-button  


Careful with that Axe

From the darkest corners of the twisted mind and imagination of guitarist John 5, comes his new masterpiece Careful With That Axe, the follow-up to 2012’s critically acclaimed God Told Me To. Released digitally on August 12, 2014, through 60 Cycle Hum, Careful With That Axe is John 5’s eighth solo album and features Rodger Carter on drums and Matt Bissonette on bass.

The album’s first single, entitled “This Is My Rifle,” will be digitally released on June 17th, the same day pre-orders go up for Careful With That Axe at all online participants.    

As main axe wielder for Rob Zombie, John 5 obsessively keeps himself busy both on and off the road, incessantly writing, recording, filming and creating. Recorded at The Doghouse Studios in Los Angeles in between tour legs, Careful With That Axe was produced by John 5, along with Rodger Carter, and illustrates his musical growth and talents as a guitar player and composer. Carter and Bissonette are in perfect sync, masterfully laying down the musical dreamscape with technical precision. Packed with rapid-fire, machine-gun riffs and musical crescendos, all intertwined with blistering fast six string assaults and an eerie sense of melody, John 5 leads you on a macabre journey through the twisted minds of a different brand of ax wielders. With compositions such as “Portrait of Sidney Sloan,” “The Dream Slayer” and “Flight Of The Vulcan Kelly,” John’s draws you in with lightning fast leads, completely redefining the term “shredding.”

Not to be pigeonholed into any one particular style, Careful With That Axe also showcases John 5’s talents and versatility as a guitar virtuoso and musician. From his flawless finger picking technique on the Latin flavored “El Cucuy” and his fast, intricate guitar-work on the classic Jerry Reed covers “Jerry’s Breakdown” and “Jiffy Jam,” banjo included, to anthemic “Six Hundred and Sixty Six Pickers In Hell,” John 5 gracefully weaves in and out of many different styles ranging from metal and rock, to bluegrass, country & western and flamenco, all harmoniously coming together for his magnum opus Careful With That Axe.

John 5 hits the road with Rob Zombie this June in support of Rob Zombie’s 2013 release Venomous Rat Regeneration Vendor (Zodiac Swan/T-Boy/UMe). Rob Zombie’s first concert film The Zombie Horror Picture Show (Zodiac Swan/T-Boy/UMe) DVD, featuring John 5, was released May 19 on Blu-ray, DVD and longform digital video.

TRACK-LISTING – Careful With That Axe

  1. We Need To Have A Talk About John
  2. This Is My Rifle
  3. Flight Of The Vulcan Kelly
  4. Jerry’s Breakdown
  5. Villisca
  6. Portrait Of Sidney Sloan
  7. Jiffy Jam
  8. Six Hundred and Sixty Six Pickers In Hell
  9. El Cucuy
  10. The Dream Slayer

Disclaimer: Please feel free to add your comment to the story. You can sign in using your site account, Facebook Twitter or Google+ account. john-5.com encourages lively debate, but please play nice. Comments that include personal attacks (including language that could potentially identify an individual), or any other inappropriate, offensive, inflammatory or illegal material will be removed.

3 Responses

  1. hafff

    John5’s solo albums are always a treat, usually my favorite albums for months n months..or untill he releases a newer one =] i love that hes a metal icon and he has the skills to masterfully show his feats in other genres. the man is a genius! i noticed theres a dvd from John5 and the guy from Coffin Case. is that going to be released with this album or seperately? absolutely cannot wait for midnight for this album to drop!!! THANK YOU JOHN5!!!(and the team behind the scenes!)!!! \m/ you ROCK!

    June 16, 2014 at 9:43 pm

  2. curt44

    Look forward to getting my first john5 album. I’m also a telecaster fan.

    June 15, 2014 at 4:25 pm

  3. Steven

    I absolutely cannot wait. I hope John can find the time to release more solo albums more often. While I do enjoy all of his work, these are my favorite. This will be, without question, yet another timeless masterpiece.

    June 13, 2014 at 11:52 pm


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: