The Devil Knows My Name John 5

Release Date: April 3, 2007
Number of Discs: 1

Label: 60 Cycle Hum
Length: 53:32

1First Victim (Feat. Joe Satriani)1:04
2The Werewolf of Westeria8:39
327 Needles6:55
4Bella Kiss1:30
5Black Widow of La Porte (Feat. Jim Root)7:25
6Welcome to the Jungle (Guns N’ Roses cover)4:28
7Harold Rollings Hymn (edited cover of Danny Rollings (convicted serial killer) song, sang before he was executed)0:53
8Dead Art in Plainfield8:01
9Young Thing (Chet Atkins cover)3:04
10The Washing Away of Wrong (Feat. Eric Johnson)8:43
11July 31st (The Last Stand)4:10


“I wanted to make it a little bit more extreme than the first two releases. I wanted to give, as much as I could. I kind of put everything in there but the kitchen sink. The first song,” First Victim” is done with a violin bow. I just wanted to make the songs pretty long and pretty intense and really have a lot of information in there. I also did a cover of “Welcome To The Jungle”, which is really close to my heart. That is kind of what really made me want to move to California was that video. When I saw it, I said this is definitely what I am going to do. It has got a lot of meaning to it. On “Young Thing”, I just wanted to do a little bit of (country) western on there to mix it up a bit.”

John 5 speaking to March 25, 2007



  • Musicians:
  • John 5: All Guitars/Banjo
    Bass: John 5, Piggy D & Matt Bissonette
    Drums: Sid Riggs & Tommy Clufetos
  • Produced by: Sid Roggs & John 5
  • Executive Producer: John 5
  • Mastered by: Undercurrent Studios
  • Engineered & Programmed by: Sid Riggs
  • Mixed by: Sid Riggs
  • Graphic Design: Piggy D
  • Photography: Piggy D & Gabrielle Geiselman
  • Studio: The Basement, The Blue Room & The Doghouse Studio
  • Publicity: VQPR/Nancy Sayle
  • All Songs Written By:  John 5
  • Published by: GTR HACK Music/Chrysalis Music ASXAP except “Young Thing” Chet Atkins Athens Music/Sony/ATV Music Publishing (BMI) & “Welcome To The Jungle” Guns N Roses
  • Special Thanks:
  • Mary Kay Kirtley, Nicole & Jeremy Lowery, Mark Friedman, Sylvia, Alex and Hayley, Rob Zombie, Sheri Moon Zombie, Tommy Clufetos, Piggy D, Jacy Planta, Richard McDonald, Mike Eldrid, Alex Perez, Chris Fleming and everyone at Fender Musical Instruments, Nick Bowcott, Jim Marshall and everyone at Marshall Amplification, John @ D’Addario Strings, Red Monkey Straps, Jonny and everyone at Coffin Case, Sid Riggs, Christina Lonsdale, Dylan McLaren, Bob Marlette, Kenny MacPherson, Jeff Brabec, Kira “Boom Boom” Williams and everyone at Chrysalis Music Worldwide, Total Skull, John Dittmar, Rick Donalshen, Ruben Velasco.
  • Special Thanks to: Joe Satriani, Eric Johnson and Jim Root for your amazing contributions.
  • Joe Satriani appears courtesy of Epic Records
  • Eric Johnson appears courtesy of Vortexan Music
  • Jim Root appears courtesy of Roadrunner Music
  • Eric Johnson’s guitar tracks recorded by: Richard Mullen at Saucer Sound on Dual-Core Opteron Processors.
  • Thanks to: Charlie Boswell and Kelly Stuart of AMD’s Media & Entertainment team.
  • John 5 exclusively plays Fender Guitars, Marshall Amps, Samson Wireless and D’Addario Strings.
  • For the latest news on John 5 go to: or


Though primarily focused on the rock and metal side, this record, like the last, also showcases Lowery’s affection for country and bluegrass. The improvement here is that Lowery effectively meshes them with the rock and metal songs, creating a neat hybrid. On occasion where he does not choose to rock, Lowery still succeeds by adding or blending new genres into his country style. Rehashing some of his own melodies in ‘Bella Kiss’, Lowery makes up with it by adding some neat clean guitar tapping along the lines of Minus The Bear. ‘Young Thing’ brings the guitar boogie of Chet Atkins, which gives Lowery a nice break from his own country style for a more jazzy tune.

For the full review from Sputnik Music click HERE

The songs which impressed me the most are The Werewolf of Westeria, Dead Art in Plainfield and The Washing Away of Wrong. All of these tracks contained heavy riffs with intricate solos to compliment them, which is what I love about John 5’s work. I love everything about this album. The only thing that annoys me is how little country/bluegrass songs there are. It seems as John 5 releases solo albums, there are less and less bluegrass songs. However, the influence is still found in his solos. With insane solos, roaring riffs, and guests like Piggy D., Joe Satriani, Matt Bissonette, Eric Johnson and Jim Root, this album delivers a kick to the balls you’d be happy to recieve. If it were stolen, I’d understand. Then I’d get another copy.

For the full review from Ultimate Guitar click HERE